Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Sept. 15, 2019
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

SB 18

Short Title

Providing a process for the attorney general to enter into diversion agreements; authorizing certain entities to access a criminal defendant's presentence investigation report; amending the crime of counterfeiting currency; clarifying the definition of comparable offense under the Kansas criminal code, the timing of claiming error on appeal, and the grounds for a motion to correct an illegal sentence; allowing use of certified drug abuse treatment programs for certain offenders convicted of unlawful cultivation or distribution of controlled substances; amending available sanctions for violation of condition of postrelease supervision; increasing criminal penalties for abuse of a child and involuntary manslaughter when the victim is under 6 years of age and making a presumption of unfitness against any parent convicted of either crime; exempting certain victims from being considered an aggressor or participant as a mitigating factor when considering a departure sentence; requiring law enforcement officers to provide information about timing of release from custody when an arrest is made following a domestic violence call. (more)

Summary of Legislation

View Testimony and Minutes

Bill Versions

SN: Supplemental Note FN: Fiscal Note
Version Documents SN FN Summ Leg
Enrolled - Law effective May 23, 2019 Download PDF Download PDF
As Amended by House Committee Download PDF Download PDF
As introduced Download PDF Download PDF Download PDF

Conference Committee Reports

CCR: Conference Committee Report CCRB: Conference Committee Report Brief
Date CCR CCRB
Fri, Apr 5, 2019 Download PDF Download PDF
The current CCR is listed first

Bill History

AR: Amendment Report CCRB: Conference Committee Report Brief JPN: Journal Page Number
Date Chamber Status AR CCRB JPN
Tue, May 14, 2019 Senate Approved by Governor on Monday, May 13, 2019
Wed, May 29, 2019 Senate Enrolled and presented to Governor on Monday, May 6, 2019
Wed, May 1, 2019 Senate Conference Committee Report was adopted; Yea: 37 Nay: 3 598
Wed, May 1, 2019 Senate Motion to suspend Joint Rule 4 (k) to allow consideration adopted; 598
Fri, Apr 5, 2019 House Conference Committee Report was adopted; Yea: 123 Nay: 0 608
Fri, Apr 5, 2019 House Conference committee report now available Download PDF Download PDF
Mon, Apr 1, 2019 House Motion to accede adopted; Representative Patton, Representative Ralph and Representative Carmichael appointed as conferees 541
Wed, Mar 27, 2019 Senate Nonconcurred with amendments; Conference Committee requested; appointed Senator Wilborn , Senator Rucker and Senator Miller as conferees 305
Tue, Mar 26, 2019 House Final Action - Passed as amended; Yea: 124 Nay: 0 489
Mon, Mar 25, 2019 House Committee of the Whole - Be passed as amended 474
Mon, Mar 25, 2019 House Committee of the Whole - Committee Report be adopted 474
Fri, Mar 22, 2019 House Committee Report recommending bill be passed as amended by Committee on Judiciary Download PDF 417
Thu, Mar 7, 2019 House Hearing: Thursday, March 7, 2019, 3:30 PM Room 346-S
Fri, Feb 15, 2019 House Referred to Committee on Judiciary 188
Fri, Feb 15, 2019 House Received and Introduced 183
Thu, Feb 14, 2019 Senate Consent Calendar Passed Yea: 40 Nay: 0 93
Thu, Feb 7, 2019 Senate Committee Report recommending bill be passed and placed on Consent Calendar by 77
Tue, Jan 29, 2019 Senate Hearing: Tuesday, January 29, 2019, 10:30 AM Room 346-S
Thu, Jan 17, 2019 Senate Referred to Committee on Judiciary 27
Wed, Jan 16, 2019 Senate Introduced 24
2019. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2019-09-15T21:22:30. Head Rev No: 255611(E)