## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1730**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Coffeyville Community College women's volleyball team for winning the 2018 NJCAA Division II National Championship, their second consecutive NJCAA Division II National Championship.

WHEREAS, The Coffeyville Community College Red Ravens women's volleyball team won the 2018 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division II National Championship against Parkland College, with three straight-set wins; and

WHEREAS, The Red Ravens entered the tournament to defend their 2017 title as NJCAA Division II Champions in Charleston, West Virginia, as the tournament's top seed after a 2018 regular season record of 40–3 and ranking as number 1 in eight out of ten regular season polls; and

WHEREAS, In pursuit of back-to-back titles, the Red Ravens did not lose a single match in the 2018 NJCAA National Championship tournament; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Delice Downing was awarded the 2018 Tachikara NJCAA Division II Coach of the Year, the 2018 Coach of the Tournament and named one of the American Volleyball Coaches Association Two-Year Midwest Region Coaches of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Coach Downing has coached the Red Ravens for 14 years and is Coffeyville's all-time winningest coach. Her resume includes two national championships out of three tournament appearances; and

WHEREAS, No stranger to Coffeyville, Coach Downing played volleyball, softball, and basketball at Coffeyville Community College from 1998–2000, where she earned numerous achievements on the volleyball court such as the Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference Freshman of the Year, Conference MVP and first team all-conference two years in a row. Coach Downing graduated in 2000, transferring to West Alabama for volleyball, where she received the Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sports Scholar Award in 2002; and

WHEREAS, Coffeyville had three players named to the 2018 NJCAA Division II All-American First Team: Sophomore Dekyra Dennis, sophomore Adianez Reyes Rivera and freshman Seliann Rodriguez; and

WHEREAS, After the tournament, Seliann Rodriguez and Dekyra Dennis were named to the all-tournament team. Adianez Reyes Rivera was named the 2018 tournament MVP and the NJCAA Division II National Player of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Coffeyville Community College women's volleyball team for winning the 2018 NJCAA Division II National Championship, their second consecutive NJCAA Division II Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Senate commends the Coffeyville Community College women's volleyball team, coached by Delice Downing, for their dedication, teamwork and winning spirit; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Goddard.

Senate Resolution No. 1730 was sponsored by Senator Dan Goddard.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.