Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Sept. 25, 2018
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

HB 2458

Short Title

Creating the crime of counterfeiting currency; including federal law enforcement officers in assault and battery against a law enforcement officer; adding violations of mistreatment of a dependent adult or elder person, changing the felony loss thresholds and adding the crime to the inherently dangerous felonies list; making the criminal penalty for possession of THC equal to the criminal penalty of possession of marijuana; amending the definition of escape in crimes of escape and aggravated escape from custody; allowing use of certified drug abuse treatment program for certain drug severity level 4 crimes. (more)

Summary of Legislation

View Testimony and Minutes

Bill Versions

SN: Supplemental Note FN: Fiscal Note
Version Documents SN FN Summ Leg
Enrolled - Law effective July 01, 2018 Download PDF Download PDF
As Amended by Senate Committee Download PDF Download PDF
As Amended by House Committee Download PDF Download PDF
As introduced Download PDF Download PDF

Bill History

AR: Amendment Report CCRB: Conference Committee Report Brief JPN: Journal Page Number
Date Chamber Status AR CCRB JPN
Fri, May 04, 2018 House Approved by Governor on Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Fri, May 04, 2018 House Enrolled and presented to Governor on Tuesday, May 08, 2018
Thu, May 03, 2018 House Reengrossed on Thursday, May 3, 2018 3247
Thu, May 03, 2018 House Conference Committee Report was adopted; Yea: 119 Nay: 0 3109
Thu, May 03, 2018 House Motion to suspend Joint Rule 4 (k) to allow consideration adopted; 3100
Wed, May 02, 2018 Senate Conference Committee Report was adopted; Yea: 40 Nay: 0 2233
Wed, May 02, 2018 Senate Motion to suspend Joint Rule 4 (k) to allow consideration adopted; 2202
Wed, May 02, 2018 Senate Conference committee report now available Download PDF Download PDF
Tue, Apr 03, 2018 Senate Motion to accede adopted; Senator Wilborn, Senator Lynn and Senator Haley appointed as conferees 1942
Mon, Apr 02, 2018 House Nonconcurred with amendments; Conference Committee requested; appointed Representative Finch , Representative Ralph and Representative Carmichael as conferees 2732
Thu, Mar 29, 2018 Senate Final Action - Passed as amended; Yea: 40 Nay: 0 1867
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Committee of the Whole - Be passed as amended 1859
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Committee of the Whole - Amendment by Senator Haley was rejected 1859
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Senator Wilborn raised a question of germaneness. The amendment was ruled germane. 1859
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Committee of the Whole - Motion to Amend - Offered by Senator Haley Download PDF
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Senator Wilborn raised a question of germaneness. The amendment was ruled not germane. 1859
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Committee of the Whole - Motion to Amend - Offered by Senator Haley Download PDF
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 Senate Committee of the Whole - Committee Report be adopted 1859
Fri, Mar 23, 2018 Senate Committee Report recommending bill be passed as amended by Committee on Judiciary Download PDF 1804
Wed, Mar 07, 2018 Senate Hearing: Wednesday, March 07, 2018, 10:30 AM Room 346-S
Wed, Feb 28, 2018 Senate Referred to Committee on Judiciary 1654
Thu, Feb 22, 2018 Senate Received and Introduced 1642
Thu, Feb 22, 2018 House Final Action - Passed as amended; Yea: 117 Nay: 0 2412
Thu, Feb 22, 2018 House Engrossed on Wednesday, February 21, 2018 2444
Wed, Feb 21, 2018 House Committee of the Whole - Be passed as amended 2408
Wed, Feb 21, 2018 House Committee of the Whole - Committee Report be adopted 2408
Mon, Feb 19, 2018 House Committee Report recommending bill be passed as amended by Committee on Judiciary Download PDF 2345
Wed, Jan 31, 2018 House Hearing: Wednesday, January 31, 2018, 03:30 PM Room 112-N
Thu, Jan 11, 2018 House Referred to Committee on Judiciary 2139
Thu, Jan 11, 2018 House Introduced 2136
2018. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2018-09-25T16:22:27. Head Rev No: 559871(E)