SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1792

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending members of the McPherson High School girls basketball team for winning the Kansas Class 4A-I State Championship.

WHEREAS, The McPherson High School girls basketball team won the Kansas Class 4A-I State Championship on March 10, 2018; and

WHEREAS, The team has made 31 trips to the state tournament, including 23 of the last 26 seasons; and

WHEREAS, The team has made it to the final four 21 times, been the state runnerup six times and has won the state championship nine times; and

WHEREAS, The team has won 21 of the last 24 league titles, including 11 consecutive seasons, from 2008 through 2018; and

WHEREAS, The junior varsity and C-teams also finished the season undefeated, and the junior varsity team has won 77 consecutive games; and

WHEREAS, The varsity team was represented by seniors Mandi Cooks and Taylor Robertson; juniors Jaycee Burghart, Megan Eisenbarth, Kari Ellet, Hannah Hageman, Riley Hett, Maggie Leaf and Claire Yowell; sophomores Cassie Cooks, Emma Ruddle, Lakyn Schieferecke and Andrea Sweat; and freshman Grace Pyle; and

WHEREAS, Coaches for the team are Chris Strathman, Mike Reith, Tim Ellet and Shelly Prescott, with managers Alaina Diggs, Hannah Dossett and Natalie Rowe: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend members of the McPherson High School girls basketball team for winning the Kansas Class 4A-I State Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 22 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Wilborn.

Senate Resolution No. 1792 was sponsored by Senator Richard E. Wilborn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.